Kitchen Schedule

01 oktober–30 november 2019

The Basic Activist Kitchen

  • Image (c) Kritische Studenten Utrecht

Throughout the course of Trainings for the Not-Yet, the Basic Activist Kitchen (the BAK) organizes daily cooking sessions and meals for trainings participants as well as for passers-by. The Basic Activist Kitchen is run by a group of Utrecht-based activists, artists, and researchers with backgrounds in theatre, art, squatting, organizing, anthropology, history, and gender studies, in collaboration with Food for Good, Asia Komarova (Casco and the Outsiders), M. G. Lostia, Willem Geertman Art and Culture Collective, Revolutionaire Eenheid, Sayonara Stutgard, 3k, and others, initiated by Jeanne van Heeswijk.

Each week, different individuals and collectives are invited to collaborate and thus engage their respective practices and networks in the activity of communal cooking. The Basic Activist Kitchen also organizes several workshops.

Schedule kitchen – Who’s cooking?
Oct-Dec 2019

Wednesday 30 October: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Thursday 31 October: Kitchen take-over by VOKO Utrecht
Friday 1 November: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Saturday 2 November: Picnic with Asia (Basic Activist Core team) & Eva Bullens (VOKO)
Sunday 3 November: De Voorkamer (Trainers for the Not Yet)
Wednesday 6 November: Basic Activist Core team with Revolutionaire Eenheid
Thursday 7 November: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Friday 8 November: Basic Activist Core team
Wednesday 13 November: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Thursday 14 November: Saturay family
Friday 15 November: Saturay family
Saturday 16 November: Eva Bullens with Cooking a Collective
Wednesday 20 November: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Thursday 21 November: Picnic with Asia (Basic Activist Core team)
Friday 22 November: kitchen take-over by Ontgroei
Thursday 28 November:  La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Friday 29 November:  La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Saturday 30 November: Picnic with Asia (Basic Activist Core team)
Sunday 1 December: Picnic with Asia (Basic Activist Core team)
Wednesday 4 December: La Cucina Nomade (core team)
Thursday 5 December: Kitchen take-over by Willem Geertman Art&Culture Network
Friday 6 December: Basic Activist Core team
Sunday 8 December: Kitchen take-over by Kritische Studenten Utrecht
Wednesday 11 December: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Thursday 12 December: Kitchen take-over by Ruilrestaurant
Friday 13 December: La Cucina Nomade (Basic Activist Core team)
Saturday 14 December: Picnic with Asia (Basic Activist Core team)
Thursday 18 to Sunday 22 December: Kitchen for Bakudapan Food Study Group


Workshops 
Sunday 6 October
Workshop with Mae Paner, the Creative Power of the Personal Narrative
Wednesday 9 October
Kitchen gathering #2 with the Basic Activist Kitchen core team
Saturday 16 November
Workshop Cooking a Collective
Organized by Eva Bullens (Collective Practice)
This workshop is a cooking activity / conversation about collective cooking / cooking a collective. What does a group of people need to become a collective? We will try to describe that like a recipe. In a small group we discuss the questions: what do we cook? How, when and where do we cook it?  And who do we cook it with / for? How can a cooking collective be a model for the post-capitalistic society? 
Sunday 17 November
Skill sharing workshop in monoprint and collage
Organized by the Basic Activist Kitchen core team
Monday 18 November
Filmscreening and soup
Organized by Taste Before You Waste
Sunday 24 November
Workshop puppet making
Organized by the Basic Activist Kitchen Core team in preparation for International Migrant Day 
Monday 9 December
Event: Comfort Food, five courses and storytelling, curated by Sayonara Stutgard
Wednesday 18 December
International Migrant Day
Puppet performance by the Basic Activist Kitchen
Thursday 19 December
Rojava:  resistance self-organization women’s liberation
Kritische Studenten Utrecht X Basic Activist Kitchen

These workshops are part of Trainings for the Not-Yet at BAK and are organized by the Basic Activist Kitchen. For more information and to sign-up, please e-mail kitchen@bakonline.org

suggesties uit het archief

Educatieprogramma

22 maart, 18.30–5 april, 21.00 2022

Cursus: Art as Politics – Fundraiser voor Oekraïne

Een online cursus voortgekomen uit de noodzaak om gezamenlijk na te denken en te leren over politiek gedreven vormen van kunst die betekenis geven aan, en ingrijpen in, het heden. Gegeven door Maria Hlavajova, algemeen en artistiek directeur van BAK. Aanmelden kan t/m 20 maart 2022.

Educatieprogramma

8 februari, 18.30–8 maart, 21.00 2022

Cursus: Art as Politics – februari/maart 2022

Een online cursus voortgekomen uit de noodzaak om gezamenlijk na te denken en te leren over politiek gedreven vormen van kunst die betekenis geven aan, en ingrijpen in, het heden. Gegeven door Maria Hlavajova, algemeen en artistiek directeur van BAK. Aanmelden kan t/m 23 januari 2022.

Public program

14 november 2021, 13.00-18.00

Music as Spectral Infrastructure: Dag Twee

Onderdeel van Le Guess Who? 2021

Dag twee als onderdeel van het tweedaagse programma Music as Spectral Infrastructure, onderdeel van Le Guess Who? 2021, beschouwt het sound system als een vorm van spectrale infrastructuur, en gaat in op de manieren waarop antikoloniaal verzet tegen raciaal kapitalisme werd gekanaliseerd via sound system-muziek als dub, house, techno en jungle.

Public Program